Prime Minister's Awards for literary achievement

See who has received a Prime Ministers Awards for Literary Achievement since they began in 2003.

Every year, New Zealanders are invited to nominate their choice of an outstanding writer who has made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the genres of:

  • fiction (from any genre, includes plays and scriptwriting). 
  • non-fiction
  • poetry

Don’t miss your opportunity to nominate your pick of our finest writers for the 2016 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement.

These New Zealand writers have been recognised for their notable literary achievement and significant contribution to New Zealand literature by being awarded a Prime Ministers Award for Literary Achievement

Read the 2016 news item


Renée (2018)
Witi Tame Ihimaera-Smiler (2017)
Marilyn Duckworth (2016)
Roger Hall (2015)
Jack Lasenby (2014)
Owen Marshall (2013)
Albert Wendt (2012)
Dame Fiona Kidman (2011)
Joy Cowley (2010)
CK Stead (2009)
Lloyd Jones (2008)
Fiona Farrell (2007)
Patricia Grace (2006)
Margaret Mahy (2005)
Maurice Gee (2004)
Janet Frame (2003)


Michael Harlow (2018)
Paula Green (2017)
David Eggleton (2016)
Bernadette Hall (2015)
Ian Wedde (2014)
Michele Leggott (2013)
Sam Hunt (2012)
Peter Bland (2011)
Cilla McQueen (2010)
Brian Turner (2009)
Elizabeth Smither (2008)
Bill Manhire (2007)
Vincent O’Sullivan (2006)
Alistair Te Ariki Campbell (2005)
Kevin Ireland (2004)
Hone Tuwhare (2003)


Wystan Curnow (2018)
Peter Simpson (2017)
Atholl Anderson (2016)
Dame Joan Metge (2015)
Jock Phillips (2014)
Martin Edmond (2013)
Gregory O'Brien (2012)
James Belich (2011)
James McNeish (2010)
Dr Ranginui Walker (2009)
WH (Bill) Oliver (2008)
Dick Scott (2007)
Judith Binney (2006)
Philip Temple (2005)
Anne Salmond (2004)
Michael King (2003)